Mods After One Week and Planned Mods

Discussion in '2012+ CRF250L Tech Talk' started by echo5, Dec 27, 2014.

1. echo5

echo5 Member

First thing I did was remove the mirrors. I use a helmet mirror. If you've ever used a bicycle mirror on your glasses its similar to that. Although the ovalized mirrors on the CRF250L are much better than round mirrors, they cant hold a candle to a helmet mirror. A helmet mirror gives you instant 180 degree view behind you which includes both blind spots and its much easier to focus on even with bifocals. The cops have never bothered me since many motorcycles no longer use handlebar mirrors. Ive been using a helmet mirror for 14 years.

Next thing to go was the chain guard. A properly lubed chain doesn't throw oil and theres no way its going to catch my clothing and I don't carry passengers. Its possible to clean and lube half the chain at a time without the guard on. Saves time and trouble and you actually lube the chain every 500 miles.

Install accessory hookup on the battery. Allows instant attachment of a trickle charger and also a 12v accessory socket for my electric vest and other things without removing body work.

Future plans:

I was going to buy a rear rack but perhaps it is possible to bungee a dry bag to the rear fender without one. That's all I will need. Anyone try it? Does it work?

Ive filled the gas tank once and those two stupid bars at the top of the tank prevent inserting the nozzle so gas goes all over when filling. Has anyone removed them? Is it possible to fill the tank at a gas station without spilling all over it? Enquiring minds want to know.

2. Alex

Alex crf250l.org dude

The bars at the top of the gas tank are a bit annoying, making fillups just a bit slower and more prone to spilling. Would also like to hear how other folks have dealt with them.

3. TTOversteer

TTOversteer Member