[motorcycle.com] - Tomfoolery – What Would Jesus Ride?

Discussion in 'Motorcycling News' started by Newsbot, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Newsbot

Newsbot All the news that's fit to excerpt

[​IMG]

My wife, Maria, loves going on motorcycle rides. Our second date was a motorcycle ride where she proved herself a fearless, adrenalin junkie. We hadn’t been on a ride together for a while, so last Saturday, we pulled the 2015 FZ-09 outta the garage and went for a spin around SoCal.

Returning home, I learned that instead of traveling the short distance to her parent’s house for Easter, the family was gathering at her brother’s place in Corona. Getting from Long Beach to Corona demands traversing State Route 91. This particular highway is notorious for brutal commute times during regular work days, let alone a holiday weekend. “Can we ride a motorcycle to Corona,” I asked, already knowing the answer. “No,” she replied.

[​IMG]It’s no secret what I do for a living. I’ve ridden motorcycles to her parent’s house. They’ve heard stories of Maria and I going on rides together. But regardless of the facts, Maria will not let her parents see her actively riding a motorcycle. “I don’t want them to worry,” is her reasoning. So, instead of joyfully lane-splitting our way through traffic on a beautiful SoCal Easter day, cutting the commute time in half on our round-trip to Corona, we spent about double the time it’d normally take to drive to Corona miserably sitting in traffic.

Surprisingly, I only saw maybe three motorcycles Easter Sunday. But these sightings combined with the ample amount of time I had on my hands sitting in stop-and-go traffic provided me the opportunity to ponder the importance of Easter.